Truly Amazing Grace

Standard

Have you noticed how easy it can be to appear to ‘have it all together’ on Facebook? 🙂 I know my family can attest to the fact that I surely do not walk through life with smiles, scriptures & inspirational quotes and affirmations rolling off my tongue! That’s one reason I appreciate the Apostle Paul so much, especially in The Message translation! Second Corinthians 12:9-11 puts it all into perspective for me and confirms that it’s God’s Grace, undeserved favor given freely due to Christ’s Redemption, that deserves all the Attention & Glory not me for even 1 second!

Paul writes,”Because of the extravagance of those revelations, and so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees. No danger then of walking around high and mighty! At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then he told me,

“My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.
Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.”

Sometimes I feel helpless, embarrassed and depressed. But then I read God’s Living Word and I realize I really can ‘count it all joy’ because God the Father, Jesus Christ and Holy Spirit have this! When Jesus walked on the earth, wholly man and wholly God, He said, ” Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” John 11:33 Then I read in Revelations, also written by the Apostle John, about the new heaven, the new earth and the new Jerusalem where I read “Look, God’s home is now among his people! He will live with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them.[p] 4 He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.” Revelations 21:3-4. Over and over in Revelations Jesus said, “Look! I am coming soon!” Revelation 22:7,12 so my hope and expectations are renewed! This fallen world is difficult, but it isn’t over yet because we are promised an amazing future! But you should never lose sight of this fact, dear friends, that time is not the same with the Lord as it is with us—to him a day may be a thousand years, and a thousand years only a day. It is not that he is dilatory about keeping his own promise as some men seem to think; the fact is that he is very patient towards you. He has no wish that any man should be destroyed. He wishes that all men should come to repent. 2 Peter 3:9 (J.B.Phillips) We trust You with the timing, Lord, but, Maranatha, Come Lord, Jesus!

About Debbie Hamilton Carson

Single Mom, Three Amazing Grown Kids, Disciple of Jesus Christ, Educator, Lifelong Learner. Because of MS, I'm mostly homebound, but, by God's Grace, my boundaries are wide open! My circumstances could have kept me somewhat isolated, yet, as a 'people person', the world wide web (ie. facebook, email, blog, CBC Online) has allowed me to develop & maintain relationships with many amazing people and I continue to grow & learn as a person & a child of God. As in the prayer of Jabez, God has expanded my boundaries! "Jabez called out to the God of Israel, “If only you would greatly bless me and expand my territory! May your hand be with me! Keep me from harm so I might not endure pain!” God answered his prayer." I Chronicles 4:10 NET Bible This blog is an avenue for me to share my life and the ways God has affected it by His Design.. Scripture says "Write this down for the next generation so people not yet born will praise GOD:" Psalm 102:18-22(The Message) ♥

Leave a Reply

