~12-12-12~

Standard

Chrishomecoming0001
12-12-12 is an especially important day to me! Today is my son, Chris’ 26th Birthday!!!! The night before the sonogram that confirmed I was going to have a ‘boy’, I called my Daddy, Damon. I told him I thought the baby was a boy. He said he thought so too. I told him the boy’s name we had chosen was Christopher Damon. He said, “If I had known that, I would have wanted a boy the whole time!”

On December 11, 1986, the night before Chris was born, my neighbor & special friend, a neonatal nurse, Paula hosted a Baby Shower for me. She prepared gourmet refreshments including caviar! As we enjoyed the delicious food, Paula noticed I kept touching my stomach. I thought I was having braxton-hicks contractions. Because of my previous emergency c-section in 1985, I had been told I wasn’t supposed to go into active labor. I was scheduled for a c-section on December 14th before my December 28th due date. However, as we visited at the end of the evening, she told me I had been having regular contractions, 2 1/2 minutes apart! The weather that night was icy, so I was concerned about driving to the hospital in that weather. Paula told me if I would go home and lay down the contractions would probably stop. I was so silly about my mother-in-law seeing anything out of order that I finished washing a frying pan in the sink at home and went to bed. The contractions stopped to my relief! However, the contractions woke me when they resumed about 7:00 AM. We called the doctor and he told me to come to the hospital. Paula had told me if we needed to go to the hospital she would keep 4 yr. old John for us till my Dad & Carl’s parents could meet her at the hospital later.

When Chris was born it was an especially joyous day as he was born 13 months after my Mother & Baby Catherine went to Heaven. The whole time I was pregnant I kept “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4” on my dresser mirror. I prayed this scripture knowing God knew I had a deep desire to have a brother or sister for 4 yr. old, John Carson. Hearing Chris’ cry that morning at 10:05 AM was a beautiful sound!

Chris had 2 1/2 years as the only little brother before he and John became Big Brothers to Ann Marie!♥

Dr. Mark Paine, with John, Chris & Ann Marie

About Debbie Hamilton Carson

Single Mom, Three Amazing Grown Kids, Disciple of Jesus Christ, Educator, Lifelong Learner. Because of MS, I'm mostly homebound, but, by God's Grace, my boundaries are wide open! My circumstances could have kept me somewhat isolated, yet, as a 'people person', the world wide web (ie. facebook, email, blog, CBC Online) has allowed me to develop & maintain relationships with many amazing people and I continue to grow & learn as a person & a child of God. As in the prayer of Jabez, God has expanded my boundaries! "Jabez called out to the God of Israel, “If only you would greatly bless me and expand my territory! May your hand be with me! Keep me from harm so I might not endure pain!” God answered his prayer." I Chronicles 4:10 NET Bible This blog is an avenue for me to share my life and the ways God has affected it by His Design.. Scripture says "Write this down for the next generation so people not yet born will praise GOD:" Psalm 102:18-22(The Message) ♥

Leave a Reply

