My Amazing Power Chair

Standard


After frequent falls and the ensuing drama and stress it caused my kids to get me up again, I finally called The Scooter Store to start the process to get a power chair so I could get around safely in the house at least. They were wonderful in helping me set up the various appointments necessary to meet the requirements of my insurance company and coming out to make sure the chair was perfectly fitted to me and our home. After 2 months of appointments and waiting for the order to be processed my amazing power chair was delivered Wednesday, Jan. 11th. However, in spite of all the measuring etc that they did, I put a hole in my bedroom door trying to get through the doorway, first thing. : ( So I just got back in bed feeling discouraged. We thought the door would have to be widened and we knew my bedroom would need to be rearranged. So, that first day I had to learn how to manage feeling excited, embarrassed, thankful, and impatient all at the same time! But then, later, Todd McCown, my son’s wonderful buddy, spoke encouraging words to me and knowing he will help John I began to feel victory was in sight…if I would just be patient until they had time to accomplish all this!

The first sign of victory came the next day, after my son, John and his girlfriend, Sakeena, examined the door further. and she realized if we moved things so the door could be opened flat out of the way, the power chair could go through it easily! I still couldn’t move the power chair around inside my room but, at least if I left it in the hall, I could use it to get around the house which was a wonderful first step!

Over the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday weekend I was involved in the amazing work John, Sakeena, & Todd did: removing furniture no longer needed, re-arranging the room, putting together a 9-cube shelf, sorting through all my stuff, making changes on my adjustable bed, adjusting a few things on the power chair my tech savvy son thought of, cleaning & cleaning some more! Now I can revolve a complete circle in my power chair in my room, as demonstrated by my daughter Ann Marie, who helped putting pictures & stuff in place!

Work has been ongoing. Sakeena got all the miscellaneous things that had overflowed all over the house during the re-arranging process, back in place. John got some new doors to replace mine and his bedroom doors. His buddy, Jason, helped him adjust the door frame in order to install a new door on my room. It makes me so happy to know John has such great friends. I’m such a Blessed Mother! John, especially, goes above and beyond what a son could do for a Mom! I feel so loved ♥

In May, 2010, the last thing my Daddy said to us as we were leaving his room the last time we saw him before he died was, “Y’all take care of your Mama.” Always blessed me that even though he was dying, he was trying to take care of me. They surely have! ♥

My kids, especially John since I live with him, need lots of prayer having the stress and responsibility of a disabled mother before they even have their own kids. I just pray they will have lots of blessing as God promises because they honor me in BIG ways. ♥

Honor your father and mother. Then you will live a long, full life in the land the LORD your God is giving you. Exodus 20:12 NLT “Honor your father and mother.” This is the first commandment with a promise. Ephesians 6:2 NLT

About Debbie Hamilton Carson

Single Mom, Three Amazing Grown Kids, Disciple of Jesus Christ, Educator, Lifelong Learner. Because of MS, I'm mostly homebound, but, by God's Grace, my boundaries are wide open! My circumstances could have kept me somewhat isolated, yet, as a 'people person', the world wide web (ie. facebook, email, blog, CBC Online) has allowed me to develop & maintain relationships with many amazing people and I continue to grow & learn as a person & a child of God. As in the prayer of Jabez, God has expanded my boundaries! "Jabez called out to the God of Israel, “If only you would greatly bless me and expand my territory! May your hand be with me! Keep me from harm so I might not endure pain!” God answered his prayer." I Chronicles 4:10 NET Bible This blog is an avenue for me to share my life and the ways God has affected it by His Design.. Scripture says "Write this down for the next generation so people not yet born will praise GOD:" Psalm 102:18-22(The Message) ♥

Leave a Reply

